Council Committees

The department and its individual members work, without favor or prejudice, cooperatively with the public and other public safety agencies to provide a safe community and strive to enhance the quality of life for tribal residents, employees and guests. The rights of the people as provided by the Pauma Band’s Articles of Association and the Constitution of the United States are protected through fair and impartial enforcement of the law.


Business Committee – The Tribal Council charged with the daily functions of governance when the General Council is not in session.
Enterprise Board – Required to oversee the operations of the tribal casino.
Economic/Business Development Committee – Charged with seeking and reviewing all economic opportunities for the tribe other than the casino.


AMIHA (All Mission Indian Housing Authority) – A consortium of tribes that shares resources to construct and build homes following federal and tribal guidelines.
Indian Health Council, Inc. – A nine-tribal-member self-governance consortium that pools resources to promote, enhance, and treat the health of its tribal members.
San Luis Rey Indian Water Authority – Comprised of five tribes commissioned to protect their watershed, negotiate with local municipalities the use and distribution of water under the Packard Congressional Act.
Intertribal Court of Southern California Board – Provides oversight for the court.
California Indian Manpower Consortium – A statewide organization that provides business opportunities for tribal communities.
Southern California Tribal Chairman’s Association – Comprised of tribal chairpersons that engage in political, social, and economic activities for the betterment of the member tribes.


National Congress of American Indians – Nationwide membership of tribes dedicated to the promotion and preservation of tribal political and social sovereignty.
Council of Energy Resource Tribes (CERT) – Supports member tribes as they develop their management capabilities and use their energy resources as the foundation for building stable, diversified self-governing economies (according to each Tribe’s own values and priorities).
Economic/Business Development Committee – Charged with seeking and reviewing all economic opportunities for the tribe other than the casino.


Shared Political Governance: Ballot Committee, Election Committee, Policies Committee, Enrollment Committee – these committees at the direction of the General Council provide oversight and direction for the documents and procedures for specific political needs of the Tribe.
Tribal Community Issues: Cemetery Committee, Church Committee, Housing Committee, Youth Committee, Education/Library/Repatriation Committee, Veterans Committee, Senior/Elder collective – are dedicated to caring for the human and natural resources of the People.
Tribal Administrative Support Committees: Hiring Committee, Fire Committee, Security Committee, Public Relations Committee, Haz-Mat Committee, Heavy Equipment Committee – are examples of tribal members working with Tribal Office staff, and Tribal Council in developing and maintaining protocols for effective tribal governance.


San Diego Association of Governments (SANDAG) – Comprised of 18 cities, tribal governments and county government SANDAG serves as the forum for regional decision-making. SANDAG builds consensus, makes strategic plans, obtains and allocates resources, plans, engineers, and builds public transportation, and provides information on a broad range of topics pertinent to the region’s quality of life.